Cross- & Countermedia

Cross- & Countermedia

The internet and digital tools make new, interactive forms of storytelling possible. The objective is to obtain an oversight of the diversity of crossmedia and interactive projects and also to examine the political potential of digital technologies. The political potential of digital technologies is also described and scrutinised in seminars conducted by Nicole Wolf and Susan Schuppli at Goldsmiths University in London and others. Under the slogan Tools for the Next Revolution, the artist duo Christoph Wachter & Mathias Jud are developing IT strategies, for instance to circumvent online censorship and to network suppressed minorities. The two projects Lazarus-Mirages by Patric Jean and Points of View by Zohar Kfir illustrate new crossmedial application formats, and refer to the theme of counter media.

16:45 – 17:15
Padagogics of critical film and media art at Goldsmiths University of London
The seminars presented here in exemplary form work with media/theory while similarly valuing creative practice as well as ethnography as essential research methods. Furthermore, the ambition set towards the production of knowledge, that takes place within theory and practice, is for it to be intervening and transforming. An ambition which is particularly needed, and challenged, within the current neoliberal conditions of higher education. 

Susan Schuppli (GB)
is a media artist and writer. She is Deputy Director of the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths University of London. She works on the evidential materiality of violence.

Nicole Wolf (DE/GB)
has a background in anthropology and film. She is interested in the many varied forms documentary practice and political cinema can take.

17:15 – 17:45
Tools for the next Revolution
The artist duo will give an insight into the work they have been doing in recent years and examine the question of ownership and control conditions of modern technologies. 

Christoph Wachter & Mathias Jud* (CH/DE) EMARE
Since the year 2000, they have been involved in participative community projects that subversively use modern technologies to make it possible to gain access to and render visible sensitive data.

*Their work developed in Australia under an EMARE grant is presented in the exhibition .move ON.

18:00 – 18:30
Lazarus-Mirages
The highly political transmedial project Lazarus-Mirages (2012) deals with paranormal phenomena, pseudo-sciences and media manipulation. It comprises a web documentation, a blog and a theatrical performance.

Patric Jean (FR)
makes documentary films, works on art projects and presents a regular Hackathon in Dakar for francophone countries. In his projects, he advocates social and gender-specific equality.

18:30 – 19:00
Points of View
Points of View is an ongoing interactive web documentary based on video footage shot by Palestinians working with B’Tselem’s Camera Distribution Project. It offers an intimate and situated look at life under the Israeli occupation. Points of View aims to increase exposure to B’tslem’s important and unique project through the creation of a map based interactive documentary that both situates the footage in its location of origin and creates new narrative threads of meaning from the stories that emerge.

Zohar Kfir (IL/CA)
is a media artist working with experimental video, interactive art and installation. Zohar has shown her work internationally in prominent galleries and video festivals.

Saturday 10. 10. 16:45
Riebeckplatz 9, Halle (Saale)

Cross- & Countermedia

Cross- & Countermedia

Das Netz und die digitalen Werkzeuge ermöglichen neue interaktive Erzählformen. Die Beispiele sollen einen Einblick in die Diversität crossmedialer und interaktiver Projekte vermitteln. Dabei wird auch das politische Potential digitaler Technologien dargestellt und hinterfragt – wie in den Seminaren von Nicole Wolf und Susan Schuppli am Goldsmiths University zu London. Unter dem Schlagwort Tools for the Next Revolution entwickelt das Künstlerduo Christoph Wachter & Mathias Jud IT-Strategien, um beispielsweise Online-Zensur zu umgehen und unterdrückte Minderheiten zu vernetzen. Die beiden Projekte Lazarus-Mirages von Patric Jean und Points of View von Zohar Kfir veranschaulichen neue Formate crossmedialer Anwendungen und nehmen inhaltlich Bezug zum Thema Countermedia.

16:45–17:15
Pädagogik der kritischen Film- und Medienkunst am Goldsmiths University London
Die hier beispielhaft vorgestellten Seminare setzen einerseits durch kritische Medien/Theorie an und sehen andererseits kreative und ethnographische Praxis als essentiellen Forschungsmodus. Zudem besteht der Anspruch an die jeweilige Wissensproduktion, durch Theorie und Praxis verändernd einzugreifen, welcher besonders im Zuge der neoliberalen Transformation von Wissenschaft und Lehre gefordert – und herausgefordert – wird.

Susan Schuppli (GB)
ist Medienkünstlerin und Kulturtheoretikerin. Derzeit ist sie Direktorin (2013–15) des Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmiths, University of London, an dem sie 2009 ihre Promotion abschloss.

Nicole Wolf (DE/GB)
kommt aus den Forschungsgebieten Anthropologie und Film. Sie beschäftigt sich mit verschiedenen Formen dokumentarischer Arbeit und politischen Formen des Kinos.

17:15–17:45
Tools for the Next Revolution
Das Künstlerduo Wachter/Jud gibt Einblick in sein Schaffen der letzten Jahre, wobei sie u. a. die Besitz- und Kontrollverhältnisse moderner Medientechnologien untersuchen.

Christoph Wachter & Mathias Jud* (CH/DE) EMARE
arbeiten seit 2000 an partizipativen Community-Projekten, die moderne Technologien subversiv nutzen, um Zugänge zu sensiblen Daten zu ermöglichen und sichtbar zu machen. Ihre aktuelle, im EMARE-Stipendium in Australien 2015 speziell für das Festival entwickelte Arbeit wird in der Ausstellung .move ON präsentiert.

17:45–18:15
Lazarus-Mirages
Das hochpolitische transmediale Projekt Lazarus-Mirages (2012) beschäftigt sich mit paranormalen Phänomenen, Pseudowissenschaften und Medienmanipulation. Es umfasst eine Webdokumentation, einen Blog und eine Theateraufführung.

Patric Jean (FR)
realisiert sowohl Dokumentarfilme als auch andere künstlerische Projekte und veranstaltet regelmäßig einen Hackathon für französischsprachige Länder in Dakar. In seinen Projekten setzt er sich für soziale und genderspezifische Gleichberechtigung ein.

18:30–19:00
Points of View
Points of view ist ein fortlaufendes interactives webbasiertes projekt, dessen Grundlage das Videomaterial des B’Tselem’s Camera Distribution Project darstellt. Darin dokumentieren palästinensische Zivilisten ihr alltägliches Leben unter der israelischen Besatzung. Durch einer interaktive Karte, welche einerseits das Material geografisch verortet und andererseits verschiedene Abfolgen der Narration ermöglicht, soll dieses besondere Bildarchiv online eine neue Sichtbarkeit erfahren.

Zohar Kfir (IL/CA)
ist Medienkünstlerin, die sich mit Experimental-Videos, interaktiver Kunst und Installation auseinandersetzt. Ihre Werke werden in bedeutenden Galerien und auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt.

Samstag 10. 10. 16:45
Riebeckplatz 9, Halle (Saale)