Sounding the Future

Gail Priest (AU )
Sounding the Future
©Gail Priest

We always speak of “visions of the future”, but what if we were to let the auditory realm lead our imaginings? An immersive, audio-driven hypertext, Sounding the Future uses speculative narratives to consider what the future might sound like and how this may manifest as art. These possible futures are viewed through two filters: the integration of technology and biology resulting in trans- and posthuman conditions; and the exploitation of the sonic potentials of the new cities we imagine. Unavoidably, these futures are informed by the ways in which we listen now, so a third strand comprising theoretical and documentary material weaves present practice into future thinking.

Essentially, all future speculation is concerned with the social, the political, and the spiritual. Among the fictions imagined here, there is an attempt to seek strategies for survival and improvement that might be implemented today—because while the future doesn’t happen to us, our current actions make the future happen.
 

Concept, text, sound, video: Gail Priest
Interactive programming: Julien Pauthier
Furniture design and fabrication: Thomas Burless/tomikeh

Sounding the Future was realised at Bandits-Mages in association with La Box, L’École nationale supérieure d’art de Bourges (ENSA), with support of the Culture 2013 Programme of the European Commission and the Goethe-Institut. This project has also been assisted by the Australia Council for the Arts and is supported by Arts NSW.

sound installation

Grant: October–December 2014, Bandits-Mages (FR

Sounding the Future

Gail Priest (AU )
Sounding the Future
©Gail Priest

Wir sprechen immer von „Zukunftsvisionen“, aber warum lassen wir uns bei unseren Vorstellungen nicht einmal akustisch leiten? Als immersiver, audiogesteuerter Hypertext entwirft Sounding the Future anhand spekulativer Erzählungen eine Vorstellung davon, wie sich die Zukunft anhören könnte und wie sich dies künstlerisch manifestieren würde. Mögliche Zukunftsformen werden durch zwei Filter betrachtet: zum einen durch die Integration von Technologie und Biologie, die trans- und posthumane Zustände hervorbringen, zum anderen durch die Ausschöpfung des akustischen Potentials der von uns imaginierten neuen Städte. Es lässt sich nicht vermeiden, dass diese Zukunftsvisionen von unserem heutigen Hören geprägt sind. Daher verknüpft ein dritter Strang aus theoretischem und dokumentarischem Material gegenwärtige Praxis mit zukünftigem Denken.

Jede Spekulation über die Zukunft beschäftigt sich unweigerlich mit Gesellschaft, Politik und Spiritualität. Die hier imaginierten Fiktionen umfassen auch Überlebensstrategien und Verbesserungsvorschläge, die heute schon umgesetzt werden könnten—denn auch wenn die Zukunft nicht uns geschieht, wird unser derzeitiges Handeln doch die Zukunft geschehen lassen.

Konzept, Text, Sound, Video: Gail Priest
Interaktive Programmierung: Julien Pauthier
Möbeldesign und -herstellung: Thomas Burless/tomikeh

Sounding the Future wurde realisiert bei Bandits-Mages in Zusammenarbeit mit La Box, L’École nationale supérieure d’art de Bourges (ENSA), unterstützt vom Programm Kultur 2013 der europäischen Kommission sowie dem Goethe-Institut. Das Projekt ist zusätzlich unterstützt vom Australia Council for the Arts sowie von Arts NSW.

Soundinstallation

Stipendium: Oktober–Dezember 2014, Bandits-Mages (FR)